Eight of these blocks are part of the 61 captive coal acreages allocated to private companies post 2005

Acting on the recommendations of a high-level inter-ministerial panel, the coal ministry on Monday cancelled 10 coal blocks allocated to 18 companies including Adani Power, Jindal Steel and Power (JSPL), Rungta Mines and a joint venture between Tata and South African Sasol.