The Zoological Survey of India was established on 1st July, 1916 to promote survey, exploration and research leading to the advancement in our knowledge of the various aspects of the exceptionally rich animal life of the erstwhile 'British Indian Empire'. Initially the Survey acquired the zoological collections of more than a century old from the former museum (1814-1875) of the Asiatic Society of Bengal and the Zoological Section of the Indian Museum (1875-1916) in Calcutta. With the increasing interest in life sciences and with the advent of the country's Five-Year Plans, the expansion programme of the Survey was initiated. The Survey has so far established sixteen Regional and Field Stations, and has developed into a major National Institution.