The ministry of environment and forests (MoEF) will prepare a detailed disaster plan for each of the 340 islands of Andaman and Nicobar and 32 islands of Lakshadweep.

Called the "Integrated Island Management Plan", these islands, now under the new Island Protection Zone Notification, will no longer fall under the management of the Coastal Regulation Zone notification.