FORMER chief justice of India Justice A S Anand will head a five-member committee to examine the safety of the Mullaperiyar dam. A five-judge Constitution bench comprising Justice D K Jain, Justice B Sudershan Reddy, Justice M K Sharma, Justice R M Lodha and Justice Deepak Verma asked the empowered committee to submit its report within six months.