The Department of Forests (DoF) was established in 1952, way before the start of FYPs. In 1961 the DoF was under the Ministry of Trade, Industry and Forest, while Department of Agriculture (DoA) and Department of Animal Husbandry (DoAH) were under the Ministry of Development (MoD). Based on the cadre system introduced by RCSC in early 1980s, the Ministries and Departments were reorganized. As a result the MoA was made responsible for forestry, agriculture, and animal husbandry.