Kerala Coastal Zone Management Authority (KCZMA) Reconstituted

Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change (MoEFCC) has reconstituted the Kerala Coastal Zone Management Authority (KCZMA) by a notification on 31 March 2015. The 12-member Authority is chaired by Principal Secretary, Science and Technology Department, Government of Kerala, Kerala, and has Member Secretary, Kerala State Council for Science, Technology and Environment, Kerala as Member Secretary of the Authority. The members include several other principal secretaries and secretaries, senior officials and directors of several state departments, institutions and authorities related to environment, pollution control, industry, revenue, fisheries etc. The main role of the Authority is protecting and improving the quality of the coastal environment and preventing, abating and controlling environmental pollution in the coastal area. The Authority is to deal with environmental issues relating to Coastal Regulation Zone which may be referred to it by the State Government, the National Coastal Zone Management Authority or the Central Government. The Authority is required to create a dedicated website and post the agenda, minutes, decisions taken, recommendation letters, acts of violations and actions taken on such violations, court matters including the orders of the courts and the approved Coastal Zone Management Plan of the State Government.