The management of about 423 plantations covering an area of 809 hectares have been handed over to district governments in Pakistan. The governments would be responsible for the management and protection of forest area on these plantations. These plantations are in Bhakkar, Layyah, Khushab, Pakpattan, Mianwali, Faisalabad, Toba Tek Singh, Kasur, Hafizabad, Sargodha, Jhang, Khanewal, Vehari, Rajanpur, Muzaffargarh, Bahawalpur and Bahawalnagar districts.