Energy security in ASEAN+6

The ASEAN+6 group comprises the ten ASEAN countries and six other countries in the Asia-Pacific region: Australia, China, India, Japan, Korea and New Zealand. These countries differ in their natural resource wealth and their levels of socio-economic and technological development, but share common challenges, in ensuring the security of their energy supplies. Given their shared geographical location, they could help one another meet these energy security challenges by deepening regional co-operation. Energy Security in ASEAN+6 covers the key energy sectors of oil, natural gas and electricity and identify the main energy security issues, including a high level of vulnerability to natural disasters and heavy dependence on imports of fossil fuels, which must pass through major global chokepoints. The report provides policy advice, primarily for the region’s developing countries, based on the emergency response systems and accumulated experience in energy security.