Accepting the logics and rational of the state the Central Planning Commission has approved the annual plan of Rs 47000 crore for the 2011-12 on Monday in Delhi.

LUCKNOW: The Mirzapur forest division is facing threat from an elephant. While, residents of Madihaan range of Mirzapur are living under fear, forest officials, on the other hand, are trying to track the wandering elephant.

While the Yamuna Expressway is back on track after last month

Lucknow: The forest department has come up with plantation targets for the year 2010-11. The department will plant saplings covering over an area of 55,000 hectares in the coming year. The plantation exercise will begin this month with the advent of monsoon.

Groundwater survey in Ghazipur, Varanasi and Mirzapur districts of Uttar Pradesh (UP) in Middle Ganga Plain shows that people in these areas are

Foggy conditions persist in many parts of northern region

New Delhi: As many as 33 people died in Uttar Pradesh due to cold wave as foggy conditions prevailed for the second successive day on Sunday in many parts of the northern region with some states also experiencing light showers.

At least 32 more people froze to death in last 24 hours in Uttar Pradesh as cold wave continues to sweep Gangetic belt engulfing the plains with dense fog bringing rail, air and road services to a screeching halt, official said on Sunday.


An unusually warm phase in early-November and unseasonal rain have prompted the civic authorities to continue its malaria surveillance till the first week of December.

The drive begins in the last week of May and usually continues till October-end.

The Allahabad High Court on Monday issued notices to UP Chief Secretary Atul Kumar Gupta, Ganga Expressway Chief Executive Officer Ravindra Singh, J P Infrastructure Chairman Manoj Gaur, the District Magistrate and the Additional SP of Mirzapur on a contempt petition alleging that they were working on a project in Mirzapur in violation of the court

LUCKNOW: Lucknow is among the 11 other districts of Uttar Pradesh that have been declared drought-hit by the State Government taking into account the rainfall quotient and the ratio of kharif sowing. The ten other districts are Chitrakoot, Etawah, Bulandshahr, Kaushambi, Pilibhit, Muzaffarnagar, Kushinagar, Jhansi, Bijnor and Mirzapur.