(Chairperson of The Jury)
national research professor, and emeritus professor at All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), and president, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi

One of the most eminent personalities in the area of medical sciences in India, Ramalingaswami's insights into the pathology of human malnutrition, anaemia, liver diseases and goitre saved millions of lives worldwide. His work on iodine and the thyroid gland formed the basis of the National Goitre Control Programme. He is the only Indian to have received the honour of being the chairperson of the global advisory committee of medical research of the World Health Organisation. The position of National Research Professor in the field of medical research could not find a worthy candidate for 25 years till 1995, when Ramalingaswami received it. Among the other awards that he has received is the Leon Bernard Foundation Prize.

chairperson, Centre for Science and Environment (CSE), New Delhi

Alumnus of the Indian Institute of Technology, Agarwal has worked for the past 25 years as an environmental journalist and researcher. He is the series editor of the State of India's Environment Citizens' Reports . He has studied issues of poverty and environment. He has argued for and actively campaigned to promote community-based management of natural resources. Among the awards he has won are the Padma Bhushan, Padma Shree, the Borlaug Award, and the Global Environmental Leadership Award.

associate professor, School of Environmental Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

An expert on pollution of water, air and soil as well as radiation and environment, Attri teaches postgraduate courses and supervises research of MPhil and PhD students. He has developed several new courses in the field of environmental studies. Among the courses are radiation and environment, energy use and its implications on environment, and transport processes in environment