Order of the National Green Tribunal (Southern Zone, Chennai) in the matter of S. Vadivel Vs Municipal Administration and Water Supply Department, Chennai & Others dated 04/05/2016 regarding Kallukuttai lake pollution in Elaiyur East Revenue village, Andimadam Panchayat, Ariyalur District. The grievance of the Applicant is that garbage collected from Jayankondam Municipality is going to be dumped in the water body.

Judgement of the National Green Tribunal (Southern Zone, Chennai) in the matter of Prof. P. Murugaiyan, Sendhurai.Vs.The District Environmental Engineer, The Tamil Nadu Pollution Control Board, Trichy dated 02/09/2015 regarding running of a bakery and sweet stall from a residential area, Sendhurai, Ariyalur District, Tamil Nadu.

Order of the National Green Tribunal (Principal Bench, New Delhi) in the matter of Indian Cements Ltd. Vs. Tamil Nadu P.C.B. & Others dated 10/02/2015 regarding limestone mining by Indian Cements at Dalavoi village, Sendurai Taluk, Ariyalur district for its for captive power plant.

The Tribunal directed that the Applicant will not carry on mining activity without any specific order passed by the Tribunal. The MoEF and Tamil Nadu Pollution Control Board shall submit a report as to whether the activity is actually closed or not.

The scope of the study and the present report covers the detailed characterization of the existing environmental status in the Project area for major environmental components viz. Meteorology, Ambient Air Quality, Water Quality and Noise Levels.

A new climate change study released by Anna University predicts a 3.5 degree Celsius temperature rise in Tamil Nadu by the end of this century.

Lion’s share of credit earmarked for agriculture, allied activities in PLP

Even as the National Bank for Agriculture and Rural Development (NABARD) has earmarked a lion’s share of credit for agriculture and allied activities in its Potential Linked Credit Plan (PLP) for Ariyalur district, one of the most backward districts in the State, it has suggested a number of steps to boost agriculture there.

Chief Minister Jayalalithaa on Sunday ordered allocation of nearly Rs.100 crore to strengthen water resources across the State which include construction of a check dam at the cost of Rs. 35 crore across the Kosasthaliyar for storing the Krishna water from Andhra Pradesh for meeting Chennai’s water requirements.

An official release said a basin dam would be constructed at Ladanenthal village in Sivaganga district to channel water to Maranadu lake from the Vaigai river and to nine other lakes at a cost of Rs.12.85 crore, while another bed dam would be built near Atthur village at the cost of Rs.16 crore to supply water Parthibanur Periya Eri, Siriya Eri and Vannikudi Eri.

Will be valid for a period of five years

The State Environment Impact Assessment Authority (SEIAA) has granted environment clearance for 11 more sand quarries in the Cauvery-Coleroon river basin. A few days ago, the SEIAA had granted clearance for 10 new sand quarries in Tiruchi, Karur, Ariyalur, Nagapattinam, Thanjavur and Namakkal districts. In the second batch of clearance, 11 quarries have been approved, sources told The Hindu on Friday.

Tamil Nadu State Rural Livelihood Mission Scheme (TNSRLM), a programme to alleviate poverty in rural areas by improving the income of the households, is to be implemented in 266 panchayats in Nagapattinam and Ariyalur district.

In Nagapattinam district, this programme would be implemented in 199 panchayats in the blocks of Semmanarkoil, Kollidam, Vedaranyam, Sirkazhi and Keezhayur during the current financial year, and in Nagapattinam and Thalainayar panchayat unions during 2013-14.

K.P.Munusamy addresses officialsof corporation, 19 municipalities

Local bodies should ensure prompt execution of schemes with respect to civic amenities and basic facilities within their limits, said K.P.Munusamy, Local Administration Minister. Addressing the local body officials after reviewing the progress of development works in Tiruchi Corporation and in the 19 municipalities in Tiruchi, Thanjavur, Tiruvarur, Nagapattinam, Pudukottai, Perambalur, and Ariyalur districts at the Collectorate here on Tuesday,